How To Turn Off Your Wi-Fi's "Auto-Join"

How To Turn Off Your Wi-Fi's "Auto-Join"

Turning off "Auto-Join" in your Wi-Fi settings will help ensure the smoothest setup experience possible

Momentarily turning off the “auto-join” feature in your wifi settings will help your Alertify device connect to your wifi network faster and without interrupting the set-up process. This can be done whether you are using a smartphone or laptop to connect your Alertify device to your internet. Turning auto-join off is something that can be easily reversed, so don’t worry about losing that feature.

Turning off Auto-Join on a phone:



  1. Go to your settings and click on “Wi-Fi” to open your wifi settings.

  2. Click on the i next to the Wi-Fi network that you are connected to.

  3. Above your password, you will see “Auto-Join” with a toggle to the right. Switch this toggle off, and your Auto-Join will be off.

  4. When your setup is complete, you can easily turn Auto-Join back on by clicking the toggle again.


Turning off Auto-Join on a laptop:



  1. Click on the Wi-Fi icon in the top right-hand corner of your screen.

  2. Click on “WIFI Settings” at the bottom of the drop-down

  3. Click on the 3 dots next to your network name. Then unselect the 'Auto-join".  

  4. When your device set-up is complete, you can easily turn Auto-Join back on by reselecting “Auto-join.”


Still, need help? Reach out to us via email [email protected]